EDUCATOR GUIDES & LESSON PLANS

Lousy Liver Oshima Cover.png

"Charlie is hungry. He simply can’t wait. What will his dear mother put on his plate? Charlie picks up his fork and stops in midair. Oh, no! On his plate! What is THAT sitting there?" "Lousy Liver" is an award-winning, deliciously whimsical tale that follows the imagination of a young boy as he devises one wild plan after another to help him avoid the “lousy liver” being served for dinner. Soon, Charlie discovers that something different isn’t always something bad.

Download the FREE Educator's Guide and other extension activities to continue engaging learning beyond the pages of this Readers' Favorite and Oshima Picture Book Museum's International POicture Book Competition Honoree!

The Gubbins Club.jpg

What if the world’s greatest pirate story wasn’t just a story? The clues to a king’s ransom in gold are hidden within the pages of history. Five unlikely friends must team up to find it. But, they’re not the only ones looking for the treasure. Who will find it first? If you’re brave enough to join the chase, there are only three rules: follow the clues; find the treasure; and try not to get dead.

 

The Gubbins Club: The Legend of Charlie's Gold is a new twist on Robert Louis Stevenson, perhaps one of the most prolific authors of his time.  The first book in a series, The Gubbins Club also makes an excellent stand-alone adventure with cross-curricular connections.  Download the Educator's Guide for a treasure trove of classroom ideas and fun beyond the pages of the book.  We also encourage you to check out the additional printable activities for more educational opportunities. 

MORE COMING SOON!!!

VIDEOS

Below you'll find videos inspired by the picture books and middle-grade novels of some of our authors.  Included in the videos, you'll find fun read-alouds and educational extensions beyond the book pages!

FOOTPRINTS

by

Melinda Taliancich Falgoust

 

ISBN: 978-0692429099

Far across the great wide world, where the sun melts into liquid gold, great Buddhas smile in their fancy temples and towering skyscrapers brush the clouds. And in a tiny house in a tiny town lives a tiny girl who dreams of doing something BIG! Footprints is an environmental picture book that crosses cultural boundaries and invites readers to follow in young Aiko’s footprints as she journeys through the Japanese countryside and discovers the universal concept that the biggest difference can be made by the smallest hands…or feet! Readers who love Shelley Meyer’s "Where the Buttercups Grow" and "The Lorax" by Dr. Seuss will delight in making "Footprints" part of their personal library.

THE GUBBINS CLUB: THE LEGEND OF CHARLIE'S GOLD

by

Melinda Taliancich Falgoust

ISBN: 978-1482690408

Continue the education beyond the pages of this NY Book Festival and Readers' Favorite Honoree!  Don't forget to check out the FREE Educator's Guide and extension activities included above and within the context of these videos!