top of page
Search
  • mfalgoust

Sneak Peek: Cover Reveal for "Asking for a Friend" from Kara H.L. Chen


Halloween may be over, but there are still sooooo many treats...like the cover reveal for Kara H.L. Chen's upcoming novel, Asking for a Friend. This charming YA rom-com follows a strong-willed, ambitious teen as she teams up with her childhood frenemy to start a dating-advice column. Perfect for fans of Emma Lord and Gloria Chao.

Book Details:

Asking for a Friend by Kara H.L. Chen Published by: HarperCollins, Quill Tree Publication Date: July 23rd, 2024 Genres: Comedy, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Synopsis:

Juliana Zhao is absolutely certain of a few things:

1. She is the world’s foremost expert on love.

2. She is going to win the nationally renowned Asian Americans in Business Competition.

When Juliana is unceremoniously dropped by her partner and she’s forced to pair with her nonconformist and annoying frenemy, Garrett Tsai, everything seems less clear. Their joint dating advice column must be good enough to win and secure bragging rights within her small Taiwanese-American community, where her family’s reputation has been in the pits since her older sister was disowned a few years prior.

Juliana always thought prestige mattered above all else. But as she argues with Garrett over how to best solve everyone else’s love problems and faces failure for the first time, she starts to see fractures in this privileged, sheltered worldview. With the competition heating up, Juliana must reckon with the sacrifices she’s made to be a perfect daughter—and whether winning is something she even wants anymore. Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/199531908-asking-for-a-friend Pre-order: Amazon: https://amzn.to/3sgQDmP B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/asking-for-a-friend-kara-hl-chen/1144214047?ean=9780063237889

Author Bio:

Kara H.L. Chen is a Taiwanese-American writer who received her MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. She is the author of LOVE & RESISTANCE (Quill Tree/Harper Collins, 2023) and ASKING FOR A FRIEND (Quill Tree/HarperCollins, 7/23/24).

Author Links:



6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page